DIY Phonics Phone


phonicsphone

The little lady in the house is learning to read. She reads just about anything she sees, even billboards or food labels. Sometimes she cracks me up the way she tries to read just about anything she sees with letters on. Oh I’m so proud of her. Now that it’s summer vacation, I have some catching up to do on my blog and emails sent by readers.

One such question I got and I’ve been really meaning to post this one is on some reading activities I do with my daughter and my kindergarten students. I do a lot of Phonemic Awareness Activities with my daughter and my students. I have a Literacy Center in my classroom and my kids use this cute little Phonics Phone. I used this in my Pre-K – K class back in Maryland. Phonics Phones help amplify the child’s voice when reading or producing letter sounds helping him or her to focus on the sounds and reading. It’s fun and an effective way when doing Phonemic Awareness activities and practicing to read.

It’s very easy and inexpensive to make.

I went to my local Home Depot store and purchased the blue PVC pipes. I think I paid less than P200.

You will need:

  • 1 inch size PVC pipes cut into 3 1/2 ” or for younger kids I cut the pipes in 3″ long ( The local Home depot store I went to sold these pipes at 1 size only which was quite long. Thus, I was able to make a lot of these).
  • 2 pieces of 1 inch elbow joints (you will need 1 elbow joint on each end) – They were sold at P12.00/elbow joint
  • washi tapes to decorate your phones

phonicsphone2

Just ask assistance from your local Home depot store to cut the pipes in 3 to 3 1/2 inches in length. If you’re not lucky to find assistance, you’ll have to do the cutting yourself using a little saw used for cutting through pipes. This can get your hands dirty though.

Put elbow joints on each end. Makes sure you thoroughly wash the phones with soap and water. You can in fact, make this an activity with your child. I’ve learned many times in school and at home that getting children involved promotes responsibility, confidence and independence. Not to mention, self-discovery promotes cognitive skills for children.

Decorate it with colorful washi tapes. That’s it!

phonics3

Here’s the little lady using her Phonics Phone.

If you have any questions, just leave me a comment or email me at marrylallwrite@yahoo.com

2 thoughts on “DIY Phonics Phone

  1. isn’t PVC one of the stuff that should be avoided in toys? our pedia just warned us off cheap toys which may contain lead so I read up on the topic, and also encountered PVC as a no-no

    Like

    • Thank you for this valuable information. But I think this particularly refers to infant toys or young children who chew on plastic toys. These are not chewed on and are used by school-age children who just use this to reinforce reading activities. In fact, a lot of my american colleagues and teachers in other states have been using this. Unless kids will chew on this, I personally think this is a very inexpensive and efficient way of teaching phonemic awareness activities and reading. Thanks for the info again. I hope moms will be weary about plastic toys and check if it contains toxic chemicals. Thanks again for dropping by!

      Like

Leave a Reply

