Marryl’s Ham and Cheese Bread Roll-Ups


IMG_9159

I realized I haven’t posted my version of the Ham and Cheese Bread Rolls. This is very popular among kids and is so easy to make.

You will need:

  • sliced bread
  • mayonnaisse or jam
  • strips of sweet or cooked ham,
  • sliced cheddar cheese
  • rolling pin
  • bread crumbs
  • 2 eggs beaten
  • canola oil for frying

IMG_9124

Start by taking a slice of bread and rolling it as thin as possible. You may not take out the sides if you’re using a cream bread that will just flatten easily like the one on the picture. I can’t seem to find my rolling pin (my daughter probably played with it again) so I’m using a drinking glass which works perfectly.

IMG_9127

It’s better though to take out the sides since it looks better and doesn’t seem to absorb that much oil.

IMG_9135

Spread mayo on the entire surface of the bread and place your ham and cheese. I’ve tried using different jams and it’s also good and Bea loves it!

IMG_9128

Starting at the edge of the bread where your ham and cheese are, roll the bread slowly. The mayo should help keep the bread rolled nicely and in place.

hamroll1

Arrange your breading station, and dip them eggs first then bread crumbs. Make sure you include the sides.

hamroll2

This is how they look like.

hamroll3

Deep fry or just fry over medium to high heat for a few seconds. Dry on paper towels, slice diagonnally and enjoy while still hot.

hamncheese1

I especially enjoy making these with my daughter.

Please post some pictures if you’re making these. Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Marryl’s Ham and Cheese Bread Roll-Ups

  1. I will surely try to make these. I usually make something similar with puff pastry but these will taste so good for sure as well.

    And thank you so much for liking my recipe! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

