P100 Challenge: Mr. India’s Chicken Kabab


This I think is hands-down the winner for the P100 Challenge! I really have to give it to the husband, again. If you have no idea what I’m talking about, the husband and I have this P100 Challenge going on. Read about it here and here. We are on the lookout for something not over P100 or about $2.36 to amuse ourselves. It doesn’t have to be food-related so long as it is under P100 and it puts a smile on your face. We get to be creative and plus I think we are sharing something to other Cebuanos who might want to get ideas on how to spend P100 and  maybe, just maybe, join this challenge as well. Just to amuse yourselves 🙂

Now on to the challenge.

The husband knows that I just love Indian food, period! I had seen that new restaurant when we pass by Gaisano Country Mall “Mr. India” and it was calling to me. Seriously! Since I got back from the US in 2010, I had missed Chicken Tikka Masala so so bad. I couldn’t find a decent restaurant here in Cebu who served Chicken Tikka Masala. There is one restaurant here in the city that served it but it was never even close to the real Chicken Tikka Masala that I so loved in Baltimore. When I saw the sign “Mr. India”, I was hoping this was better than that restaurant. It took me months before I was able to convince the husband to go there. It didn’t disappoint us at all.

I had to order the Chicken Tikka Masala even if I know I would lose. It costs P120 so that is over P100. I lost but this is just heaven in a bowl for me. It tasted even better than what I used to have in Belvedere Towers in Baltimore. Really good and authentic Chicken Tikka Masala. I’m sorry guys but this picture does not say heaven at all but how could I be taking pictures when that bowl is really calling me to eat. My apologies. Probably next time I visit Mr. India I can take better pictures.

This is best dipped with the hot Naan or those Tandoor-baked Indian flatbreads. I must write another post on my love affair with Chicken Tikka Masala.

BUt I have to give it to the husband for his winning streak on the P100 Challenge. He’s done it again. He ordered Chicken Kabab that cost P99.00! Yes, just a peso short of P100 and this is a hit. You get three chicken skewers of juicy and succulent ground chicken marinated in probably, I’m just guessing, garlic, coriander, yoghurt, lemon and ginger. It is also served with 1 hot naan, a humus dip and some onion salad. Now, a chicken and rice meal from your trusted fast food chain cannot beat that, right? Not to mention, it’s healthy and tastes so good.

The husband has been converted again! He won alright but I have converted him to acquire that Indian taste. It’s all good.

Don’t be intimidated by Indian food. And it’s not only chicken curry that spells Indian food. You must try Chicken Kabab and of course, Chicken Tikka Masala.

’til our next challenge.

Mr. India                                                                                                                   Authentic Indian Express Cuisine,                                                                                   County Mall, Banilad, Cebu City #511-5110

Leave a Reply

