Shrimp, Tomato and Basil Pasta


I have a love affair with pasta. I’m not a picky eater. I love all kinds of pasta and all kinds of sauces. Hubby does too. Every so often we crave for a pasta dish and by every so often, I mean once a week 🙂

I know I’ve posted some pasta dishes already but this time, I’m featuring a seafood that tastes really good here in Cebu – Shrimps.

This is your basic shrimp, tomato and basil that is so quick and so delish! It’s worth your prep time, I promise!

This is my version of Shrimp, Tomato and Basil Pasta:

You will need:

  • 200 gms spaghetti (cook according to package instructions; cook a minute less)
  • 1/2 lb or 1/4 kilo shrimps, peeled and deveined (I prefer mine with shells on, that’s where the flavors are)
  • small can of whole peeled tomatoes
  • a pinch of sugar
  • fresh basil, chiffonade
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1/4 cup lemon juice
  • 1/4 cup white wine
  • 1-2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil

I prefer to use whole-peeled tomatoes by Merysa (made in Italy). I get mine from the importer so it’s way cheap than how much you get those imported Italian tomatoes at the grocery 🙂

I take my food processor and throw in the whole peeled tomatoes and juice. Pulse or chop depending on your desired consistency. You will notice that it will turn a little orange since you’ve introduced air into the tomatoes.  I don’t know where I got that. I think I read it somewhere. But just trust me on this. Why not use tomato sauce instead? It’s not the same taste. You can also skip this process if you’re in a hurry and just toss the whole-peeled tomatoes right in.

In a skillet, pour about a tablespoon or two of extra virgin olive oil. Saute the white onions. Throw a pinch of salt and let it sweat. Do this for a few minutes. This process makes the sweetness of the onions come out (I think 🙂 )

Throw in the garlic and shrimps together and quickly saute til the shrimps turn pink. At this stage, I season with salt and pepper just to give the shrimps more flavor.

Add half of the basil and you can smell the sweet basil and the garlic just marrying together. (I told you I have a love affair with pasta dishes).

Add the blended tomatoes. Pour the wine and simmer for a few minutes. If you want more flavor to this dish, you may add a pinch of dried basil and oregano. I prefer just plain fresh basil from my little herb garden. Add the sugar and a little bit of lemon juice.

Right before I toss in the pasta, I like to add a drizzle of extra virgin olive oil.

Simmer for a minute and throw in the remaining fresh basil. That’s it!

My really quick, easy and so good Shrimp, Tomato and Basil Pasta…it calls to me…EAT!

P.S. Italians say seafood and cheese don’t go together. It’s a NO, NO! Hey, I’m no Italian and I put cheese on just about anything. So if I fancy some parmesan, by all means. But this one is so good you won’t need it.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

