DIY Tissue Paper Pompoms


I’ve been making these tiny tissue paper pompoms with my four-year-old daughter. Some really tiny ones like these were here favorite. She helps me fold the tissues. With her tiny hands, the accordion folds are not perfect and she makes a mess alright 🙂 . But that’s the whole idea, to get her involved and I enjoy making these really simple tissue paper pompoms with her.

Yesterday, a friend of mine asked me how to make them. There are lots of great tutorials online but I thought I’d make one myself with step-by-step pictures.

Here’s what you’ll need:

  • 4 sheets of 2 1/2 inches x 3 1/4 inches tissue paper of your desired color
  • strings or 26 gauge floral wire
  • scissors

Procedure:

Stack 4 sheets of tissue paper. If you prefer tiny ones like these to use as tiny flowers then use 2 1/2 inches x 3 1/4 inches of tissue paper. If you prefer really big ones to use for a baby shower or a wedding, you can stack about 8 sheets 20 inches x 30 inches of tissue paper of your desired color.

Make an accordion fold with 1/2 inch-wide folds, creasing with each fold.

Your tissue paper will look like this.

Trim the ends with rounded or pointed cuts (depending on the kind of flower/look you prefer).

This part you may skip but I find it more efficient and my pompoms looking prettier if I snip just a little bit off of the sides along the white lines.

Take your 26 gauge wire, wrap and twist like so. This picture didn’t show the snipped  center.

But this one is how yours should look by now.

Now separate the layers of tissue paper by pulling away from the center one at a time.

That’s it! Here’s the tiny and super easy tissue paper pompoms. Aren’t they the easiest and prettiest pompoms you can make?

If you’re making this and using my tutorial, I’d really appreciate it if you can post some of your work and give me a pingback.

Happy crafting, ladies!

-Marryl

3 thoughts on “DIY Tissue Paper Pompoms

Leave a Reply

