How to cook and eat Cebu Chorizo the right way


Cebu Chorizo is another one on my food memories to last me a lifetime. What is it with food that brings back so many good memories of childhood? This sausage reminds me of time when I was still living in Guizo, Mandaue City, back when I was so much younger.

This Cebu chorizo are native sausages or links but has a sweet and just a wee bit spice into it. I haven’t tasted any other sausage in the world close to the Cebu Chorizo so it’s a must-try.

Unlike other sausages, this has a different way of cooking and eating and so I must share. Coming from a full-blooded Cebuana, this is how to cook and eat it like we do.

First things first: buy the best and cleanest chorizo in Cebu. I know where to get mine – from my aunt Mama Alice. She makes the best. I kid you not!

Place the chorizo in a pan and add a little bit of water. Cook over medium heat.

Prick the chorizo with toothpick and allow the water to evaporate. The chorizo will slowly render its own oil. No need to add oil. If you must as the chorizo will caramelize and may stick on your pan, I prefer to use just a little bit of canola oil.

Just continue flipping the chorizo from time to time and scrape the bottom of the pan when you do so.

You know when it’s cooked because the chorizo starts to ooze out of the casing. Then it’s done!

There’s a right way to eat the chorizo and that’s with steaming hot rice. The way we do it is to put the chorizo on top of the rice and to just toss it around to allow the caramelized- casing-goodness of the chorizo marry with the rice. I don’t know why I said that but that’s the whole idea.

To my fellow Cebuanos around the world, I know you miss this 🙂

5 thoughts on “How to cook and eat Cebu Chorizo the right way

  1. I’m craving for chorizo right now ughhh and your pics makes me hungrier hehe hope I can have some sooonest and of course with steaming hot rice!!! way laing way to eat it but that hehe

    I hope you don’t mind me answering itsmecherry above, I’ve seen them for sale in MOA hypermarket. =)

    Cille =)

    Like

Leave a Reply

