Of Ice Candy and Childhod Memories


Note: This post is for my brothers in the US. I sent you the plastic bags. It’s time for you to make some ice candy! For my Mama, thank you for making the best ice candies! Advance Happy Mother’s Day, Ma!

I’m sorry if I’ve been slacking with my posts and I haven’t said hello to all of you for I think over a week now. Don’t worry, everything’s pretty good in this side of the world. In fact, I had the best week with my brother, Gierad, who came home from Michigan, for just a week 🙂 It was a busy week, alright! Yes, he was in a hurry to go back to the US to participate and compete in the CHI 2012 at Austin, Texas this Saturday, May 5-10, 2012. CHI 2012 is the premier international conference of experts on Computer-Human Interaction. If you want to be amazed at what he does, click on his website here. Have fun in Austin, Rad!

The last time I saw him or the whole family was back in October of 2010. I still remember it was his birthday and the family’s house-warming. Wow, that’s almost two years ago! I think a visit to my family in the US is due pretty soon, eh?

Being with my brother even for just a week brought back memories of childhood. When we think about childhood, Filipinos can’t help but think about summer days and ice candies.

Ice candy is a favorite summer treat for Filipinos. As the name suggests, ice candy is sweet frozen juice or mixture poured into a thin, small plastic bag. When ready, you bite off either end of the plastic and nibble on the sweet ice. Every so often I turn it upside down and drink the melted ice candy. You will know when you had your fill when your teeth start to hurt.

I remember Mama making ice candy when I was little. She usually had mangoes and milk to flavor the ice candy. There was also Milo and peanuts that was another favorite in the neighborhood. Either my mama would make them for us or we would ask for some coins or, if we get lucky, find coins around the house and buy from our neighbors. You would know if a neighbor is selling ice candy: they will have a handwritten sign in front of the house  that says “Ice Candy for Sale”.

And because I am working on creating happy childhood memories for my four-year-old daughter I thought It’d be fun if we make ice candy together. Making it is really simple, no recipe required but you do need two things: a 1 3/4″ bag and a funnel. I’m not sure if you could find this thin plastic bag in your area though.

Mango Ice Candy

You will need:

  • 1 ripe mango, sliced into small cubes
  • evaporated milk/full cream milk (depending on how creamy you want it)
  • sugar to taste
  • 2 tbsps mango juice (powder) If you’re in the Philippines, see if you can find the Oishi brand
  • 1 1/2 cups of water

Just combine the mangoes and the milk in a bowl.

If you can find the sweetest and ripest mangoes, this mixture smells so good. Add the water, sugar and about 2 tbsps of mango juice powder.

You will need the 1 3/4 x 10″ plastic bag.

Using a funnel, pour in the mixture to the plastic bag, leaving about 2 inches at the top so you can still twist and tie a knot. Above is my  daughter holding the ice candy with the funnel. Below is the nanny holding and demonstrating the twist and tie. I am of course the photographer 🙂

..

Those are the best  mango ice candy! Why don’t you try making these simple treats and create memories with your children.

6 thoughts on “Of Ice Candy and Childhod Memories

  1. Love it! Waah, this brings back so many memories of summer. I remember we helped our neighbor make this (her avocado ice candy was tops) but yes, mango is THE BEST. Now, I know how to make it, thanks to you.

    I laughed at your description of how you turn it upside down. Likewise, hahaha. And then you take a huge bite and your face will scrunch up from the brain freeze. 😀

    Thank you for this, Marryl. I’ll say it again: Love it!

    Like

    • Thanks, Tita Buds. Coming from you, it’s a compliment. I’m not very excited about the pictures though. Tried my hand at Cross Process effect. Actually, I wanted to hide the pictures that didn’t have good lighting, haha!

      Like

  2. Inspiring my friend. My mom used to make these delicious ice candies for us then my siblings and I later did it to raise extra money to buy toys. It was one of my happiest childhood memories. I will check out this recipe so I too can make new “ice candy” memories with my son. I bet he’ll love it. God bless you and your family.

    Like

Leave a Reply

