My First Attempt At Sugar Flowers – Bucket List Checked!


Let’s set things straight: I was not on speaking terms with the OVEN. That’s a fact. I prefer cooking rather than baking or making beautiful fondant creations.

The past couple of days though was a milestone for me (Tee! Hee!). I had the pleasure of taking Chef Jesuit Paul Nugas’ class on “Life-like, Life-sized Sugar Paste Flowers” at Caro and Marie.ย  Chef Jess trained at The Heny Sison Culinary School, Enderun Extension Colleges and The Academy of Pastry Arts in Malaysia. The nice thing about Caro and Marie is that they offer half a day classes for baking/cooking and is very affordable compared to those 6 months-2 year courses from Culinary schools that can cost you an arm and a leg!ย  When I don’t know how to follow a certain recipe or when I need to see how one is done like this particular class, I take classes there.

I’m not really good at baking or not even a flower kind of girl but lately I find myself drawn to sugar flowers. I’ve even included this on my bucket list and I’m very proud of myself for having checked that off already! **curtsey**curtsey**

It was my first time to attend his class and I must say Chef Jess did a very fine job sharingย  his expertise on making sugar paste flowers. He showed us step-by-step how to make each flower.

I didn’t say though that I’m pretty good at it, not even close. Aarrghh! In fact, I wasn’t able to do the cymbidium orchid and I was hoping I would’ve tried doing it. Yes, that’s right! I think we were asked to make six flowers but this slow woman finished only five of those in that two-day class. I probably took so much time kneading, looking at the petals, curling the sides and feeling like a little girl amused by the ball tool. How cool are those gumpaste tools?

I was rolling and pinching and in the middle of all that rolling I must’ve pinched myself and thought I was actually doing it, haha!

Another item on my bucket list checked off! The last couple of days went really well, meeting new friends and best of all, discovering or more like affirm something about myself: that I truly am The Slow Woman and is suffering from what my husband calls ‘analysis paralysis’ ๐Ÿ™‚

I hope you guys had a great weekend!

’til next post!

Marryl

P.S. Chef Jess, if you’re reading this, I just want to say thank you for doing an impressive job teaching a slow woman like me how to make sugar flowers. I tell you, teaching me requires a great amount of skill, haha! Seriously, you’ve been very accommodating and I wish to join your other classes pretty soon. Hugs and kisses from Cebu ๐Ÿ™‚

p.p.s. If you fancy learning how to cook or bake, head on to Caro and Marie. Who knows, you might bump into me ๐Ÿ™‚ If you would like to learn how to make your own fashion accessories like earrings, bracelets, etc Please visit Marryl & Lauren for our Beginner’s Bead Jewelry-making Class next month.

10 thoughts on “My First Attempt At Sugar Flowers – Bucket List Checked!

  1. But those are really pretty, Marryl! Love the little buds, too. ๐Ÿ™‚
    I’ve been planning to go back for some more of the very short-term breadbaking workshop I took last year, but haven’t gotten around to it yet. Another Slow Woman here, hah. At least you’ve gone to the fondant class and this. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

