The P100 Challenge: Churros Con Chocolate


My husband found Tablea, conveniently next to Mochiko Mochi Ice cream at the Ayala Center Cebu.

For those of you who haven’t read my previous post, my hubby and I are up for a P100 Challenge – to amuse ourselves ๐Ÿ™‚ The goal is to find something interesting that’s under P100. That’s about $2.35.

Tablea Chocolate Cafe is one of those I’d like to call Cebuano ingenuity. It’s definitely a breath of fresh air to find something very local ( they make use of Philippine cacao beans) yet surprisingly very world-class. They try to find new ways of using tablea or that unsweetened tablets from pure cacao beans.

My husband ordered Churros Con Chocolate for P95.00 or about $2.22. I have to say this is definitely a winner.

My first taste of Churros was in high school at Le France cafe and since then, I’ve been searching for the best churros.

I think you get about 4-5 churros served with a rich Chokolate drink. Quite soft to the bite which is a good thing. If only it’sย  a little bit bigger it’d be almost perfect. I think a good churroย  is something that is moist and light in the inside and a crispy exterior that’s coated with sugar and cinnamon. Tablea’s churros come with a very rich chocolate dip, you can almost close your eyes as you savor this rich dessert..and then feel guilty, Mwahahaha ๐Ÿ™‚ Well not really. I think the chokolate is made from real cocoa beans that’s a good antioxidant (yeah, right!).

They sell batirols that brought back childhood memories back when my Mama used to make sikwate using a batirol. They look more like the batidors from Mexico with their patterns. Batirols or Batidors are actually wooden whisks used for making Tsokolate or a Hot chocolate drink using tablea.

The Churros Con Chocolate is at P95 so I think the husband won.

He said he had a lot of leftover chokolate and it’s a shame to be wasting such rich chocolate drink, he said it would be perfect with Puto! I wasn’t sure if he was just making excuses but he said I should definitely add this in my blog especially for my fellow Filipinos in the US and other parts of the world who miss Puto and Sikwate.

For an additional P25, you get puto and drizzle your leftover chokolate. In Cebu we call it sikwate. Puto and Sikwate is a popular Cebuano dish. Puto is sticky rice that’s perfect if paired with sikwate or warm Chocolate drink made from real cacao beans.

If you get the chance to go to the malls, try something interesting like Churros Con Chocolate. If you’re like my husband who will not let his warm chokolate go to waste, add in this really good puto and you can almost close your eyes and savor the richness of this chokolate…and then feel guilty ๐Ÿ™‚

‘Til next challenge, Marryl!

P.S. While we’re at it, why don’t you join in the fun and try to amuse yourselves with our P100 Challenge. Let me know what interesting thing you’ve done that’s under P100! or $2.35!

10 thoughts on “The P100 Challenge: Churros Con Chocolate

  1. Churros!!! Oh, those are sooo good. Such a sinful, wonderful snack. I am no longer into chocolate bars but give me hot choco drinks and dips and I’m a goner. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Your Php100 Challenge is a very cute idea and something my, uh, ‘thrifty’ husband would like I’m sure, hehe.
    (Your photos are top-notch, as always.)

    Like

    • My husband and I are trying to get active and healthy. My operant word is ‘trying’ ๐Ÿ™‚ he’s doing a really good job going to the gym 3-4x a week though. But when he saw the churros and the chocolate, the healthy lifestyle and diet just went out the window, haha!

      Like

  2. Pingback: Choco-Late’ de Batirol « Travel with Trisha

  3. Hello, Marryl,
    You got nice blog. Nagutom ako sa puto at sikwate. ting snack pa nman krn. heheh.. I have here a boiled sweet corn. hinatag pa gyud. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Like

  4. Pingback: P100 Challenge: Mr. India’s Chicken Kabab | Marryl All Write

Leave a Reply

