Baked Penne With Vegetables


I am feeling so much better today although I still got the sniffles. The weather’s been pretty bad here in Cebu these past couple of days too. It’s been raining nonstop for two days. I wish it’d stop raining. I feel sorry for those victims of the recent typhoon (sob! sob!)

On a more positive note, hubby asked if I felt better and if I had the energy to cook pasta for lunch. He loves pasta and I used to cook pasta for him at least once (or twice) a week. It was my first time to cook pasta with just vegetables, no meat.

So here’s my take on Penne with Vegetables:

Ingredients:

  • 1 medium onion, roughly chopped
  • 1 green bell pepper, cored and roughly chopped
  • 1 medium carrots, roughly chopped
  • 1 zucchini, chopped
  • black olives
  • sweet basil
  • 100 grams penne pasta
  • homemade marinara sauce
  • mozzarella cheese

Procedure:

In a large skillet, pour in about two tablespoons of olive oil over medium heat. Sauté onions and add just a bit of salt to let it sweat. Add the garlic. Stir in the vegetables and sauté for three to five minutes.

When sauteing vegetables, do not overcook or stir too many times. Stir twice the most. Cook the vegetables for 3-5 minutes until they start sweating like so.

Stir in homemade marinara sauce and white wine.

I used Italian white wine.

Bring to a boil then reduce heat. Season with salt and pepper and simmer for about 6 minutes. Toss in cooked penne. Cook pasta al dente as you will bake it and will continue cooking in the oven.

Remove from heat and transfer into a baking dish. Top with parmesan and grated mozzarella cheese. I added some fresh sweet basil from my small garden (weeee! I’m using fresh herbs from my little herb garden *curtsey, curtsey*).

Bake for 10-15 minutes or until cheese is bubbly. My first attempt at penne with vegetables was supposed to be grilled vegetables but this sautéed vegetables came out well and really quick. What do you think?

2 thoughts on “Baked Penne With Vegetables

  1. Pingback: Pizza Hut Cavatini « Ownchef

  2. Pingback: Franco’s Italian – Norfolk, Virginia « Exploding Potatoes

Leave a Reply

