Bruschetta: The most delicious way to eat fresh tomatoes


I have a love affair with Italian food and bruschetta is up there on my list of favorites. This to me is the most delicious way of eating fresh tomatoes. It’s a very simple appetizer and you can easily whip this up in a few minutes.

Just the other day, while doing some paper works, I had a serious craving for bruschetta. It wasn’t just a thought, I was really craving for one. No I’m not pregnant (I wish I was)! I just had to make some.

I went to the fridge to check if I had some tomatoes and mozzarella. Lo and behold! There were tomatoes and a block of mozzarella! I had some basil growing from my small (container) garden. It was fate! (hahaha!)

This is how I make Bruschetta.

You will need:

  1. days old bread (freshly baked bread just won’t work)
  2. the freshest tomatoes you can find, chopped (don’t scrimp on these)
  3. a handful of basil
  4. a few cloves of garlic
  5. good quality extra virgin olive oil
  6.  a teaspoon of balsamic vinegar
  7. mozzarella
  8. freshly ground black pepper and sea salt to taste
Prepare the tomato topping first before grilling the bread.

Combine the tomatoes, extra virgin olive oil, basil and about a teaspoon of balsamic vinegar. I like to add balsamic vinegar to my bruschetta because it gives it a little bite. You may or may not add a little minced garlic. I added just a bit of minced garlic to this. Season it with sea salt and freshly ground black pepper. Set aside.

Slice the bread about half of an inch to an inch thick. I really don’t like mine that thick because I want to taste the tomatoes, not the bread. Grill/toast the bread for about a minute or until slightly brown. Take it out of the grill and sprinkle/brush with olive oil and rub it with garlic. A little garlic goes a long way. This is the usual topping.

With this bruschetta, I added some mozzarella and put it back in the grill until the mozzarella starts melting.

Top the bread with the tomato mixture.

This is simply heaven on a plate!

4 thoughts on “Bruschetta: The most delicious way to eat fresh tomatoes

  1. Pingback: Ingredients game: Guess that recipe « Life, Liberty and the Pursuit of Foodiness

  2. Pingback: Balsamic Bruschetta | Marryl All Write

Leave a Reply

