Melt-in-your-mouth Cebu Mangoes


I was craving for mangoes this morning and asked one of the maids to buy a kilo right outside Gaisano Grand Mall (which is a stone’s throw away from our house). Yes, that’s how close I am to a mall, a market, fruit stands, white sand beaches..ahhh you name it, I’m right smack in the middle of all the good stuff of a tropical island life (even traffic! Pffft!).

This is how I remembered eating mangoes when I was younger. We would slice the mangoes criss-cross and would open them up like so. We’d eat them by squares or rectangles. Every bite of those sweet mangoes would just melt in your mouth. I kid you not! It’s not fibrous compared to the other mangoes I’ve tasted. This is another one that’s up there on my food memories that will last me a lifetime.

The mangoes were a bit pricey since it’s out of season. It was P70/kilo, about $1.63 a kilo. You get about 4 pieces of mangoes for a kilo. Not bad at all.

You have to come over to Cebu and taste the mangoes! (and the Lechon, the white sand beaches, the friendly smiles of the Cebuanos. Ok enough already! This is starting to sound like a travel blog 🙂

2 thoughts on “Melt-in-your-mouth Cebu Mangoes

    • Yes, Carbon is where we can find just about anything (including Manalili St.). That’s where I go to buy my bead supplies for my wedding cord orders. I found the mat at SM. They have lots of placemats that are made of local indigenous materials.

      Like

Leave a Reply

