My decorative stones got a “facelift”


 

Decorative stones are the newest trend in designing homes and other architectural buildings. Stone finish adds a touch of elegance and beauty to the home or building.

Our new home has decorative stones as accents on the main entrance. It looked ok but I noticed that it was too dull compared to the other decorative stones that I’ve seen in the neighborhood. I decided it needed a “facelift”!  🙂

Incidentally, JB Rock Garden in Mandaue (where I got my decorative pebbles for the garden) were also suppliers of decorative stones. I asked them what they do after installation and they gladly explained to me the process of applying concrete sealant.

Applying sealant seals the surface to prevent water and other seepage. Additionally, it gets an aesthetic “lift” if stained properly.

Here’s what you’ll need:

  1. a bucket of water
  2. about 3/4 cup of muriatic acid (mix it to the water). This will be the mixture you will use to clean the stones.
  3. 3/4″ paint brush
  4. a liter of concrete sealant
  5. old toothbrush

Mix the muriatic acid to the bucket of water. Use this mixture to clean the stones prior to applying the sealant. I used an old toothbrush to clean the stones with the mixture (pardon me, but I was trying to be resourceful and it gets the job done better 🙂
Brush each stone thoroughly to get rid of accumulated dirt. I left it overnight to make sure the stones were dry before applying the sealant.

The following day I applied the sealant using a 3/4″ paint brush.

Make sure each stone gets a generous amount of the sealant. Notice that there’s plastic covering the bermuda grass. I just made sure that the sealant doesn’t drop on my bermuda 🙂

Here’s a picture of the stones with and without the sealant.

This was an easy project and it didn’t take much time to finish It. I’m happy with the results 🙂

I think I did a pretty good job, didn’t I?

 

 

Leave a Reply

