Shrimp in Garlic Butter Sauce


Hi everybody! How was your weekend? I had my hands full this couple of weeks. I was asked to substitute for a teacher who was on maternity leave. I enjoyed my short stint with Kindergarten 2 though ๐Ÿ™‚ They are six-year-olds and can very much read CVC words (consonant-vowel-consonants i.e. sat, hat, etc.) They can also read simple sight words like the, and, these, etc. I just get amused when they start reading in chorus. Oh, well, I am so used to my three-four-year-old students who are all-over the place at times, that to see six-year olds just sitting and reading together is just a breath of fresh air ๐Ÿ™‚

I still prefer my nursery kids though, who run around when they get the chance or follows what you say, for the most part ๐Ÿ™‚ There’s something about being with little children that does something to me.

My Kindergarten 2 colleagues were very welcoming and helped me out a lot. A big thank you to Daphne and Racel. hugs! hugs!

Now on with the shrimps ๐Ÿ™‚

My parents-in-law are also home for a vacation. That spells a lot of eating and cooking and running errands. This weekend, we did a lot of that. I had to whip up my version of shrimp scampi, minus the wine. I also added my favorite herb-basil instead of parsley. I like this herb especially the sweet italian basil kind. It’s so simple and fast to make. This is my take on Shrimp in Garlic Butter Sauce.

Here’s what you’ll need:

  • medium-sized shrimps deveined ( about half a pound or half a kilo. I don’t really measure when I make these, hee! hee!)
  • 3 cloves of garlic or more, chopped
  • 2 tbsp of unsalted butter
  • 2-3 tablespoons of olive oil
  • sweet basil, chopped
  • lemon (optional)
  • salt and pepper to taste
Procedure:
  1. Melt butter and olive oil together in a skillet.
  2. Saute the garlic until it turns opaque, not golden brown.
  3. Turn the heat to medium to medium high then add in the shrimps. It should only take about ย two to three minutes to cook the shrimp. Season with salt and pepper.
  4. Add in the basil and the lemon (optional) a few seconds before turning off the heat.
That’s it. It’s that simple and fast to make. Try it and let me know how it came out.
4 thoughts on “Shrimp in Garlic Butter Sauce

Leave a Reply

