Korker Bow Tutorial


I’ve been meaning to make this really cute clips for my daughter Lauren for I guess over a year now, haha! Yeah, I know! Intentions don’t count πŸ™‚

I guess I’m just swamped with a lot of stuff. This afternoon I just had to do it even if I didn’t have the right kind of ribbon. This is my first attempt at Korker Bows.

Here’s what you’ll need:

  • 1/4 inch wooden dowels
  • wooden clothes pin
  • 3/8 inch gross grain ribbons (I find the smaller ribbons are more attractive for baby or toddler clips. I couldn’t find the smaller ones though πŸ™‚ )
  • candle to singe
  • glue gun and glue stick
  • cookie tray
  • Reynolds wrap
  • needle and thread
Preheat your oven at 275Β° F or about 135ΒΊ C. Start by wrapping your ribbon to the wooden dowel diagonally. Use the wooden clothes pin to hold them in place like so.
I like to leave a bit of space in between since I don’t want my ribbons to be curling too close to each other. You can wrap it tighter too and the result will be really curly ribbons. I might try that next time.
Aren’t those the cutest clothes pin or what?
Continue wrapping the ribbon until you reach the end of the dowel. Cut the excess ribbon and use a wooden clothes pin to hold it in place. Your dowels will look like these.
I placed them in a cookie sheet covered with Reynolds wrap. I just wanna make sure they’re clean after baking..cooking…whatever πŸ™‚
Place them in the oven for 25-30 minutes.
Meantime, take your alligator clip and cover them with a ribbon using glue gun and stick.
Here’s how it looks like after you’ve wrapped it with ribbon.
Remove the ribbons from the oven. It shouldn’t take long to let the ribbons cool. Mine didn’t come out as curly as I wanted it to be or I guess it needed probably five more minutes in the oven.
Cut the ribbons about 2 inches long or shorter for smaller ribbons. I singed the ends using a candle. You may arrange your ribbons according to your preferred color combination. take your first ribbon and put it through the needle just halfway. make sure it stays there in the middle and not down the thread. That way, if you don’t like how you’ve arranged the ribbons, you can easily pull them out and do it again.
I like to take my alligator clip and see how it would look like with the ribbons on it.
Continue putting the ribbons until you have your desired number of ribbons.
Pinch your needles together and pull the needle through. Sew back through the needle and do this about 3 times making sure they’re sewn securely in place.
Your bow is finished!
Take your alligator clip that was wrapped with ribbon and attach the korker bow on top using a glue gun.
Mine didn’t come out as I expected 😦 Oh well, it’s still my first time so we’ll see if I can do better next time.
2 thoughts on “Korker Bow Tutorial

Leave a Reply

