Golda’s Red and Blue Wedding Cord


Back in 2007, I had an online shop for personalized wedding cords – Marryl & Lauren. These wedding cords were made from carefully selected crystals, beads and gems. I didn’t make one just to sell it. It had to be something special.

I had to close shop in August of 2009 when I had to leave for the US to work. I wasn’t really excited about the idea of closing it or not being able to do it but I knew someday I’ll be back at it.

Now that I am back in Cebu and have time to squeeze in what I love to do (crafting! giggles :), I am just ecstatic!

The traditional wedding cord or wedding lazo is a piece of wedding paraphernalia used in some Christian Catholic wedding ceremonies. During the ceremony, this is traditionally formed into a figure-eight shape and then placed around the neck areas of the bride and groom. The cord symbolizes lifetime unity of the couple when they officially become husband and wife. After the wedding, the bride typically keeps the cord as a keepsake. The traditional cord is literally just a silk cord.

Being the self-proclaimed crafter that I am, I take it up a notch and make it more personalized using crystals and high-quality beads which matches the color theme of the wedding.

Very recently, my good friend Golda who also teaches at Baltimore City asked me if I could make her wedding cord in Red and Horizon Blue. Since she’s a good friend of mine, I made sure I chose only the best materials. i decided to make it all crystals! Yes, quite pricey I would say.

This is the connector.

I wanted to make it different from the other cords that I’ve made in the past so I designed each loop to be detachable so it can be individual long necklaces. you can put on a fabric flower brooch on one side and it’ll look elegant. I’ll take a picture of the long necklace with the fabric flower as soon as I get the time.

I hope Golda will like this.

Best wishes my dear friend 🙂 hug, hug 🙂 

Leave a Reply

