Home Is Where The Heart Is


I went to visit my family in Michigan last October 2010 for the house-warming  and for my brother Rad’s birthday.

It was my first time to finally see my parents’ house painted and all. The last time I was there, the contractors had just started building it, literally from basement up to the second story. I remember it was winter of 2009 that we first visited the place.

That’s my mama. I told her to stay right there where I can take a picture of her where what looked like the basement or the garage. After about six months or so, the house was finished.

When I finally saw it, it was how I imagined it to be – landscaped front yard and a bay window, a nice neighborhood.  It was fall so everything was beautiful.

As soon as I entered the house, the study or the library invites you with its clean, minimal colors of white and black. My brother, Jik, had a hand on it.  I’m pretty sure about that. He’s the artist in the family.

Some of the decor were from his travels from Central and South America.

It was only then that I realized how great of an artist he has become. Most of the paintings were his. 

That’s another Jik masterpiece on the wall and on top of the printer. That’s him on the computer.

and this…

Marryl: “Jik, whatever happened to this painting? I thought this has my name on it?” 🙂

and another one…

and another…

and another…

My family is from the Philippines and migrated to the US a couple of years ago.  It was good to see them in Michigan, all grown up.

Did I mention that we are a family of nine? 🙂 hee hee

(not in the picture is my papa and my other brother who is in the Philippines)

Home is where the heart is and for now I am where I should be.
What about you? Where is home?
4 thoughts on “Home Is Where The Heart Is

  1. I share the same thoughts. I thought being in the U.S. would grant my dreams and the happiness that goes with it. 8 years later, I know now that I should have stayed. I had a simple life but I was happy. Now all I have are longings and the obvious “debts,” from trying to live the so called ” American dream.” I’m
    Happy for you… And Cebu is a paradise of its own. I went to Plantation Bay 6 years ago. Beautiful beaches!!! Your brother has a lovely home. Like out of HGTV. And the paiting… Impressive! May be one day, I get to go home…. Where my heart is!

    Like

    • That depends on the state and the visa that you have, I guess. Mine was H1b therefore it meant hubby couldnt work for 15 years or more until we are granted an immigrant visa. We both said NO. That’s too much time swapping roles,suspending my husbands life waiting for something. If you’re a citizen, I think life is different. Nevertheless, I was shocked by the lifestyle many Filipinos lead. It’s just a vicious cycle of being in debt. Credit cards are good if you know how to use them. It’s a very peaceful life when you are able to buy something in cash if you want to and you have no fear of somebody from a credit card company bugging you day in and out. Like I said, we choose our battles. I just chose happiness, not material things. So here I am in my beloved Cebu, where it’s sunny everyday, 10 minutes from the beaches, the traffic, the lechon, the lubak2 roads and everything in between.hahaha!

      It’s also good to be away from home because you get to appreciate a lot of things in life. What’s important is you’re with your family.That’s what is important for now.

      Have faith my friend.

      Like

  2. “What’s important is you’re with your family.That’s what is important for now.” Wise words from a person with a generous heart. Sometimes I ask my wife , “when are we going home?” I haven’t heard the right answer yet. I was hoping she would say, ” Next year for sure…” Oh, well, I’ll keep praying for it. God bless you and your family.

    Like

Leave a Reply

