Mango Float Madness


Have you tried this dessert?

This is a famous Filipino dessert that is insanely delicious! If you have sweet ripe mangoes, all purpose cream, condensed milk and graham crackers, then you’re good to go.

This dessert is very famous in the Philippines as we have an abundance of sweet mangoes during summer. I personally think that Cebu mangoes are simply among the best I’ve tasted. Unlike the other mangoes that I’ve tried, Cebu mangoes are not fibrous. They are really sweet and has that melt-in-your-mouth texture.

Summer is the best time to be in Cebu (to hit the white sand beaches) and taste the mangoes. You can find it anywhere from the local grocery stores to the streets of Cebu City. The sweetest and cheaper find is at the wet markets. They sell them from P60-80 a kilo. That’s about $1.90.

Mango Float, as the name suggests, is layer upon layer of sweet mangoes in heavenly goodness. This dessert finds its way in every table of Filipino households during family get togethers, Christmas and other holidays. If the mangoes aren’t in season, I substitute it with other tropical fruits. Peaches works well too.

When I was in the US, I had been wanting to make this dessert but just couldn’t find the perfect mangoes. I was also too busy with work, I could hardly find the time to do it. Now that I’m back in Cebu and its this time of the year when mangoes are at its sweetest, I just had to make one. I was excited to make this because it was my daughter’s first time to do it. She’s just three years old. Well, she has been helping me out with almost everything. I had been away for about a year or so, now that I’m back (oh how she’d grown so fast! sob..sob..), I make it a point that we do a lot of things together. It’s priceless.

Now back to the Mango Float..To make this recipe, you will need the following ingredients:

Ingredients:

  • 1 pack Knoxx gelatine dissolved in 1/2 cup of boiling water
  • 1 pack of Graham  Honey crackers
  • 2 packs of 250 ml all purpose cream or heavy cream (approximately 2 cups)
  • 1 small can of condensed milk (about 3/4 cup)
  • 3-4 mangoes
  • 1/ 2 cup evaporated milk
Preparation:
  1. Boil half a cup of water. Turn off heat and dissolve 1 pack of gelatine into the hot water.  In a bowl, combine the chilled all-purpose cream, condensed milk, evaporated milk and dissolved gelatin
  2. LAYER- Lay 8 pieces of crackers in an 8 x 13 rectangular pan. Pour cream and top with thinly sliced mangoes. Repeat process to make 2 or 3 layers, ending with the cream.

Top with mango slices. (I prefer this instead of the usual crushed graham. They say that “We eat with our eyes first” or something to that effect. To me it looks delicious with the mangoes on top rather than the boring brown-colored crushed graham on top).

Chill and serve cold.

It’s that simple. If you haven’t tried this dessert, I suggest you try making one. You can just whip this up in minutes. Let me know what you think.
Enjoy!
Show me some love and leave a comment if you’re using my recipe. Or better yet, do a post and give me a pingback. #marrylsrecipe
4 thoughts on “Mango Float Madness

  1. I love mange float!!! It’s my most favorite dessert ever!! I’ve been meaning to make it but I just can’t find the right mangoes here in the United States… 😦 Even both the Asian and Filipino stores don’t have the right mangoes… I’m so sad! D:

    Like

    • I know. Most of the mangoes I found there in the US were quite fibrous. But if you do get lucky, there are states that have really good mangoes. One time, A family friend from North Carolina visited me in Maryland and she brought me some really sweet mangoes. You could also substitute the mangoes with peaches though. But it’s never the same dessert, right? Thanks for stopping by. ‘ppreciate it!

      Like

Leave a Reply

