Caprese Salad


This is probably my all-time favorite salad (hubby too)!  Thank you Ms. Morgan for the recipe (she is my dear friend from Maryland. I miss her dearly!). I didn’t know something that quick and easy  to make can taste just absolutely wonderful. It’s gloriously simple!  The key is in the fresh ingredients: perfectly ripe tomatoes, good mozzarella (preferably buffalo) and olive oil. I add a little red wine vinaigrette.

Prep Time: 10 minutes

Ingredients:

  • ripe tomatoes, sliced into rounds
  • fresh mozzarella (buffalo if possible)
  • fresh basil leaves
  • olive oil
  • salt and pepper
  • red wine vinaigrette
Preparation: 
Slice the tomatoes into rounds and put them on a platter.  Slice the mozzarella into rounds and lay them over the tomatoes. Lay one basil leaf over each slice of mozzarella cheese. Season with the olive oil, vinaigrette, salt and pepper.
Alternative:
In the US, it was easy for me to find buffalo or fresh mozzarella. So I buy the cheese in logs and slice them in rounds. However, if you’re in Cebu, you can just buy regular mozzarella from a local deli and slice them in cubes (They don’t taste as heavenly good as the buffalo though).
Slice also the tomatoes in cubes and slice the fresh basil leaves in ribbons. Add the olive oil and red wine vinaigrette. Season with salt and pepper.
I also add olives although traditional recipes don’t call for them, and if one wants to be strict, a Caprese that includes them really isn’t a Caprese. However, I do add them when I make this alternative Caprese salad here in Cebu. They do add a pleasant taste. I prefer the sweet black olives.
I make a “caprese” ahead by combining the ingredients in a bowl and lightly chilling them. Hubby loves to have them for breakfast over toasted baguette. He also takes them to work for his lunch. We have this almost everyday! (I kid you not!).
Aahhh, food fit for a king indeed!
2 thoughts on “Caprese Salad

  1. Pingback: La Tegola Cucina Italiana | Marryl All Write

  2. Pingback: Italian Buffet at The Radisson Blu Hotel Cebu: Amazing CIBO Thursdays | Marryl All Write

Leave a Reply

